Arugula Salad with Maple Glazed Portabellas

The one crop that keeps on going in our garden is arugula.  Peppery and hearty, this green has sustained us since late summer and I just ate some last night.  My favorite use has been to pair it with something sweet and nice, strong cheese.  Here’s a recipe my sister and I came up with and couldn’t stop eating…

Arugula Salad with Maple Glazed Portabellas

One bunch fresh arugula

3-4 large portabella mushrooms

2 Tbls balsamic vinegar

2 tbls maple syrup

1 tbls olive oil

2 cloves of garlic minced

1/2 c of raclette cheese or gorgonzola

1/2 c dried cranberries

1 tart aplpe, sliced thinly

1/2 cup toasted hazlenuts (any nut will do, but theses were especially tasty)

Wash and tear arugula.  Sprinkle nuts, cheese, cranberries, and sliced apple on top.  Saute garlic in olive oil, add slices of portabellas with maple syrup and balsamic. Cook on medium low until mushrooms are tender and the liquid has thickened to a nice sauce- about 20 minutes.  Place mushrooms and “maple juice” on top of salad.  Enjoy!

One response to “Arugula Salad with Maple Glazed Portabellas

  1. hello, hello, hello! I have so wanted to get in touch but have the same old excuses we all do about time and not enough of it. I was so happy to hear of the coming baby to you and MIke and the kids and all that entails! Also, I love the pictures and stories of the school in Peru as sent about our community on Facebook. I am still not a facebook follower or participant but Russ keeps me up on all he thinks I might find inspiring.

    Last night I actually dreamed of your school or some creative dreamlike facsimile of it. I woke thinking about Noah and his teenage angst that seems to have set in pretty hard. I’ve been trying to think of something meaningful for him to do this summer and a wild thought crossed my mind. Even though the costs might make it prohibitive, I wonder if he could help in the building of this school? From this pictures it looks much more finished and beautiful then I expected (although the beauty of it did not surprise me) and I am wondering if this is still a work in progress and how long you guys will be there? I’m not sure what I’m suggesting but he keeps talking about how “irrelevent” his education seems to have been, he wants something REAL and with purpose and immediate results and consequence. Maybe he and I will come and volunteer?? What a crazy idea but the more I think about it the more I like it.

    The weather has been gloomy here for about a month now, I remind everyone that this is the same time every year that we all wonder why we live here…to hang in there for those days we can’t imagine living anywhere else.

    More to come, miss you all and love you Rachel.

    Olivia says hello and a big hug and a kiss for Quinn and Tula!

    Debra

Leave a Reply

